PDA

View Full Version : Methadone use after suboxone dosage...

sobermeth
08-28-2006, 02:57 PM
I have been using opiates, both illicit and legal for about 8 years now. In the past year I had been on methdone to stay off of oxy's and H. After a while though, I felt that methadone was just getting me a less intense high and not keeping me sober. So just recently I started using bupe, 16mgs a day in the form of suboxone. When I say recently, I mean less than a week of use. The bupe worked for a little while but started to really give me flank pains (by the liver). I also still had cravings, which on methadone I did not.

I am curious to see if methadone will work again. I had been on about 80mgs of meth a day, which raises the question of why I should've started taking bupe anyway. It has been over 24 hours since my last bupe dose, and I am thinking of going back to methadone soon as I am starting some w/d. :(

I will keep you all updated about how this transition works, and would like to hear from anyone else with any experience with the two drugs.

~thanks,

sobermeth

sobermeth
08-28-2006, 06:34 PM
I just wanted to update everyone on my experience switching to methadone after about a week of suboxone. I was able to take the methadone approximately 24-30 hours after my last dose of sub and the w/d's from the sub diminished within an hour. I also have a mild high and think that going back to methadone is safe after using bupe...as long as you wait long enough and haven't been on the subs for that long (i would assume less than a month)

Sitar
08-28-2006, 07:15 PM
There's no reason to be afraid of going back to methadone after using buprenorphine. The only thing that might "happen" is if you don't wait long enough (at least 24 hours for most people), you won't really get very high from the methadone.

Going from the methadone to the buprenorphine is what you have to worry about, since it could potentially cause severe precipitated withdrawal syndrome.