PDA

View Full Version : Dextromethorphan and Methadone??

10GAUGE19
03-17-2005, 07:39 AM
Has anyone ever heard about using dextromethorphan to help with methadone tolerance?? I am a claims manager for a medical insurance company and I was reviewing some medical notes for a patient who is on methadone for chronic pain. The patient was asking the doctor to increase her dosage of methadone because she felt that the dose she is on wasn't working as well as it used to. The doctor told her to take dextromethorphan with the methadone because it would help with tolerance. I have been on 100 mgs for almost a year now and I know I have built up a huge tolerance to the methadone. I hate to continue to increase my dosage and just wondered if anyone else had heard about using the dextro..to help with tolerance? Thanks for any help... :zhelp:

bi11i
03-17-2005, 11:49 AM
DXM actually potentiates methadone (as well as other opiates.) Here's a link: http://sulcus.berkeley.edu/mcb/165_001/papers/manuscripts/_67.html

10GAUGE19
03-17-2005, 02:55 PM
bi11i....hey, thanks for the link!! I have only been able to find the dextro.. in cold medicines. It is usually stacked with a couple other drugs. Do you know if it is sold just by itself?? Thanks again for the help....:hangloose

Paregoric Kid
03-17-2005, 05:08 PM
it's NMDA antagonist properties are believed to be the cause of reduction of tolerance not just to opiates/opioids but also amphetamines as well