PDA

View Full Version : how much codeine in one day?

renton
04-08-2006, 01:27 AM
I was wondering how much codeine would be safe to take in a day. Some books say 400mg max but I've read they use it instead of methadone maintnance in parts of Germany so they must use allot more than that to help ex heroin users.

antony
04-08-2006, 09:38 AM
ive read your body has a ceiling for codeine, it could be 400mgs that it can only metabolize at a time, and the rest goes to waste. you could load up all day, and nothing.

katomic
04-09-2006, 11:01 AM
Yeah Antony is right and it also inhibits the very enzyme it needs to turn in to morphine when that happened to me it tended to make me fell ill if I did two high doses close to each other. Theirs no point than using it more than two times a day for rec value maybe even once cos it’s a waste.

ssjTiamat
05-09-2006, 06:40 AM
Well, let me ask this. Being a codeine noob myself.

How much codeine is in a standard Tylenol 3 tab? All the times I have taken codeine it has always been as a last resort or as a backup to get me thru 1 or 2 days at most until my next script of Oxy or Hydro came along. Just to keep the w/d away. But in all my past dealings with it, I have never bothered to try and find out what the mg count is in these or even how much I am taking and what the effective dose is for myself (personally). Not to mention, none of the medication literature I have ever rec. with a codeine script has EVER mentioned the mg measure or anything else that would indicate the individual tablets strength. Unlike your average Hydro or Oxy script or Lit. that pretty much states the mg count and strength in so many places you couldn't NOT know what the emasure was if you tried!

Thanks.

ssj

caesee
05-09-2006, 07:30 AM
Well, let me ask this. Being a codeine noob myself.

How much codeine is in a standard Tylenol 3 tab? ssj

tylenol 3=30mg codiene, tylenol 4=40mg codiene

exitwound
05-09-2006, 03:23 PM