PDA

View Full Version : Methadone hcl to freebase back to hcl

SynthMorph
03-06-2008, 12:39 PM
Would it be possible to freebase methadone hcl found in oral formulas with sodium bicarbonate or sodium hydroxide? Im new to this chemistry stuff and looking for a way to isolate methadone in juice. With the freebase one could turn it into methadone hcl with hydrochloric acid.

SpecialGuy69
03-06-2008, 03:35 PM
I believe you are referring to an acid/base extraction.

If that is your question - can you obtain pure methadone hcl by performing an acid/base extraction on oral solution, the answer is probably. Almost surely if you have the sugar free clear juice.

But why bother? I'm assuming you want to shoot pure methadone. Everyone says its not great, and it almost surely wouldnt be worth the trouble of isloating it from juice. In england they have a pure injectable methadone product called physeptone, and Nick has said that he got almost no rush from shooting it.

Unless you are already shooting your take-homes everyday as is, don't bother.

SynthMorph
03-07-2008, 01:20 AM
Im looking to extract methadone from the juice to further refine in to levomethadone. I'm not shooting my juice and don't want to. I'm not sure what an acid to base extraction is. I'm interested in turning the methadone hcl into the base form in the juice. Anyone know how to do that? That way I can later turn it into the l-methadone hcl with hydrochloric acid later. I'm curious if this is as simple as mixing the juice with sodium hydroxide and heating and extracting with chloroform?

Synack
03-10-2008, 10:52 PM
Why bother trying.. if I remember, it has an opioid receptor affinity in the range of morphine - also has about the same analgesic effects, and causes more respiratory depression and less sedation than morphine..