PDA

View Full Version : Keep Missing My Veins

AlteK
12-03-2007, 10:21 PM
I just recently began shooting after months of contemplation. I just want to try the IV route a bit, but I am having trouble. I don't have anybody experienced to actually do it for me, hence I am left to do it myself. I have seen tons of people do it so I was pretty confident I could do it myself. I ran into a big problem though.. I keep missing my vein I am trying to get in. I am getting the needle through the skin and I am pretty sure I am going deep enough. I just don't know if the vein is rolling off the needle or I am going too deep or what the problem is. I have successfully done it twice now, but it takes countless times piercing my skin and poking around. It is really hard to do it myself too since I am new at it. I try drawing for blood and I get nothing but air most of the time. I am trying on the inside of my elbow (left arm). I know the vein is there and I am feeling it with my finger before I go for it. I get in and am confident I got in and when I draw the plunger back, all I get is air. Does anyone know what my problem might be? Sometimes as soon as I pull out the injection site begins to bleed so I know I am hitting the vein! I just can't seem to keep it steady enough or get it in at the right time to push the load in. Anyone? Tips? Suggestions?

My arm can't take much more poking around. I am taking a bit of a break before I give it another shot. I am getting really frustrated and could use some advice. Bleh.
Thanks.

Jade Warrior
12-03-2007, 10:40 PM